In the latest in our series on Dunfermline’s Industrial Heritage, George Beattie gives us the history of Ralph W. Stewart & Co, Ltd., Scottish Central Rubber Works, Elgin Street, Dunfermline.
The story of this firm, which had it’s roots in linen manufacture, tells of a bold attempt at diversification into a new industry, at a time when the linen industry was struggling.
George Beattie continues his series on Dunfermline’s industrial and commercial past with another 20th Century history, this time of the laundry company Hills of Fife. George has included a large number of photographs and an interview, conducted in 2009, with a former employee, Jenny Ferguson, who worked for Hills between 1928 and 1942.
In “Update on Dunfermline’s Coloured Rows“, Jean Barclay provides new evidence which appears to solve the problem of the location of the long demolished Blue Row. In the mid 19th Century the Red, Black and Blue Rows were a set of streets north of the Mill Dam, mostly inhabited by workers in the textile industry.
In John Jackson and Sons, Coachbuilders, George Beattie continues his series on Dunfermline’s industrial and commercial past, this time with the history of a 20th Century firm. The article includes a fascinating selection of photographs of the staff, premises and some of the vehicles the company built.
In The Dunfermline Foundry (1816 to 1892), the latest in his series on Dunfermline’s Industrial Past, George Beattie, reports on his study of this pioneering engineering business in the town. The firm was lead by two influential men, the second of whom, John Whitelaw, became the Provost. Under his leadership, the firm supplied cast iron products to prestigious customers across the UK and overseas.