Did You Know…
…that an elegant granite fountain used to stand in Queen Anne St?
It stood from 1860 to 1924, was given to the town by an Aberdeen medical doctor and shared it’s name with a former village to the north of Dunfermline.
In “The Lassodie Fountain“, George Robertson explains what it was and why it was put there.
Last Sunday’s “Scotland on Sunday” (15/1/17) featured an article on the history of the lost village of Lassodie. Alison Campsie covered the history of the village, and touched on the stories of other abandoned villages, such as Binnend, near Burntisland. She quoted George Robertson, the DHS Chairman, and included material from some of George’s interviews with former residents, used in his articles about Lassodie.
Good to see our website enabling further discussion of our area’s past.
In response to George Robertson’s article on Lassodie, we received an interesting email from David Allan, whose grandmother was born in Lassodie. He sent us this article concerning two of the men commemorated on the war memorial.
In “A Childhood in Lassodie” George Robertson reports on a conversation he had with Peggy Crawford, who lived her early life in the vanished mining village of Lassodie.
In ‘The Lost Village of Lassodie’ George Robertson tells the fascinating story of the rise and fall of a West Fife mining community.